The language used in Scottish education has changed – the language used in recruitment and workforce development needs to change too.

The SCQF is Scotland’s national qualifications framework. It provides a way of describing, comparing and understanding a wide range of qualifications and learning programmes across Scotland and internationally.

In addition to mainstream qualifications, the SCQF also contains vocational and skills-based qualifications, and learning programmes developed and delivered in the workplace or community all across Scotland.

Our qualifications are described using two numbers.

  • SCQF Level = level of difficulty (1 to 12)
  • SCQF Credit Points = how long it takes to complete the learning (1 credit = 10 hrs)

Recognising Qualifications, Skills and Experience

Understanding the skills and abilities of your existing and potential workforce is vital for workforce planning. The SCQF has a wide range of tools to help you understand the qualifications, skills and experience your employees or job applicants already have.

How can I compare different qualifications to each other?



How do today’s qualifications compare to the ones I did at school?  




How do Scottish qualifications compare to the rest of the UK and the   Republic of Ireland?




How can I better understand skills and experience at different levels?




We can also help you find the right type of course for your employees so they can make the most of their learning.


If you would like to find out more about the SCQF and how it can help with recruitment and workforce development, you can book a 1:1 session with our Employer Support Lead. She will talk you through the range of free materials and support that we offer, and provide information on how to become an SCQF Inclusive Recruiter.


But don’t just take our word for it!

Watch these short videos from HR representatives at South of Scotland Enterprise and ArenaHR.